August 20, 2011

  • I’m thankful to live close enough to our four grandchildren to get to see them fairly often. The two who live farthest away spent this week with us, a few precious days together to celebrate the end of summer. Yesterday it was time for them to go home. They start school on Monday, so their lives will require a return to routine, to keeping on schedule, to busy days filled with work and play and tired nights with early bedtimes. It’s always a period of transition, one that parents and kids alike must make. Even mimis and poppies make it, although their school days are several chapters ago. They still remember the excitement, the anticipation, the fresh feeling of a new teacher, a new year of learning new subjects and skills, new school shoes and school supplies…maybe new friends. They sort of miss it….sort of….

    When we got back to the city, Mom was still working so we decided to visit a lovely park not far from where our girlies live. This rose garden is such a pretty place. Many weddings take place in this enchanted setting. The girls felt a little princess-y just being in the midst of such beauty.

    starting out

    Lucy unknowingly chose a dress that matched our outing.

    too sweet

    two cute girls

    Bees love roses, too.

    rose with bee

    Lucy took a picture of Emma and me.

    emma and mimi

    And Emma took this one of Lucy and me.

    mimi and girls at park 069

    It’s hard for Mimi to think of Emma looking so grown up.

    all the colors

    Seems like she should be this size.

    cute lucy

    Instead, she’s showing signs of … leaving little-girlhood behind.

    beauty

    Little girls are so sweet.

    darling lucy

    And so are big ones.

    emma

    Emma loved the yellow roses.

    emma loved the yellow ones

    And Lucy liked the pink ones.

    pink rose

    We all loved the red ones.

    reds

    I wish I could borrow their gardener for a season.

    garden

    two cuties

    By the end of our walk, we were all ready to jump in this fountain.

    atthe fountain

    But we were proper ladies and refrained from such embarrassing behavior.

    Little ladies grow up too quickly. Time stand still, please….I need more days like this one.

Comments (11)

  • I enjoyed the pretty flowers, pretty girls, and pretty Mimi.

  • I echo Doris’ comment. Very nice pictures and your commentary reflects how most of us Grandparents feel as we see this kidlets growing up.

  • I know where you were! To the tune of nana-nana-dodo. lol DIL runs in this park regularly. I worry about it at times and tell her NOT AFTER DARK. Beautiful place and not far from where Wil and I had our first apt. 49 years ago.
    And if I’m wrong about the park I apologize for the nana-nana bit. :) Sure wish we could meet sometime when you are going through here. Did you stop for peaches?

  • I am so glad you had such a good time with Sarah’s girls, Janet.  I know you cherish every minute.  They do grow up quickly.  Shall we sing a chorus of “Sunrise,Sunset” from Fiddler on the Roof?

  • Carol, we did stop going up for peaches….got a basket of some called Bisco (I think.) Not my favs but still fresh and yummy. Sometime I’ll be coming through when I’m not in such a hurry, and I’ll get in touch with you…would love to meet and sit and visit.

    Jane, that song makes me CRY! love it but TOO sad….that’s just how quickly it passes, isn’t it?

  • I just asked you on Facebook where you were when I saw the photo of Princess Lucy, and now I know! Great shots of you three and the roses. I know you had a wonderful visit with your precious girls, and I’m sure they just treasured their time with you and Poppy. What blessed grandchildren, not to be so terribly far away from their Mimi and Poppy. Hope you got to rest a little today, though!

  • You have some super cute granddaughters.  I come from a family of 2 girls also, and we spent a ton of time at grandparents house on both sides of the family.  I don’t know what I’d have done without my paternal grandmother.  I was her favorite which was a tiny bit of a burden, but most of my best memories (aside from school) were spending time with my paternal grandparents.  Grandpa had a huge rose garden too, this brings back memories. The girls dresses are so cute, my grandmother sewed a lot of our clothes and taught me to sew.  I loved getting out of that house (the parents house) to go back to school!  It was an exciting time, I hated summer.

  • Enjoyed your post.

  • Lovely post, Janet, lovely flowers and most of all, lovely girls. I felt like I’d had a stroll in the park myself, just reading it.

  • These are beautiful pictures of your girls, and how nice that you got to have them over before summer ended. When the time comes,I will be that Grandma too, even if I have to travel to the ends of the world, my grandchildren will know me! Good for you, Janet.

  • I envy your having all your grands so nearby.  All my brood will be home for Thanksgiving however, so I’ll fill up my heart then.  And yes, Emma is growing up.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories