January 9, 2012

  • Yesterday the farmboy called me right after he had left the house to do his morning chores. “There’s a big white bird on the lake!” he said. “I’m coming!” I replied, as I jumped into jeans, grabbed camera and ran.

                     IMG_8290

    Usually the lake is covered with a dozen kinds of ducks each morning, but this interloper had caused the regulars to scatter.

                 IMG_8293    

    He swam effortlessly up and down the length of the lake.

                   IMG_8298

    I wanted a closer shot so we devised a plan.

                    IMG_8296

    I climbed the dam, hid behind a big cedar and waited, while the farmboy drove his truck to the upper end and sort of “herded” the bird my way.

                     IMG_8300

    He cooperated perfectly.

                      IMG_8333

    I wanted to see him find breakfast, but he seemed content to relax.

                      IMG_8337

    The cold finally made my fingers numb, so I left him to it.

    When we got home from church, our visitor had flown. It sure was nice to have him stop by, though.

    Come back soon, Mr. Pelican!

Comments (4)

  • That’s so much fun.   Sometimes I just get on the golf cart, or in the car, and go back to sit by my pond, just to watch the movement of the water, or whatever birds that might be swimming, or watch the fish flop.   Relaxing.

  • What an awesome treat on a cold morning!  Thanks so much for sharing him ~

  • Lots of those on the lake between us and Clinton. This was such a pretty post. Thanks!

  • What a cool sighting! Hope you’ve warmed up by now.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *