January 12, 2012

  • CLEAN OUT THE FRIDGE SOUP

    Today, a snowy, blowy sort of day in the winter Ozarks, is a soup day. We love soup in the winter, but sometimes I make it too often — or make too much of it. So I’ve been giving soup a bit of a much-needed rest. Today, however, is SUCH a soup day that I couldn’t resist.

    Since January 4 (there’s no rule about starting on the 1st day of the year, is there?) I’ve been counting calories, and so I counted as I made my soup. I call it “Clean Out the Fridge.” Two birds with one stone, right?

             IMG_8350

    Here’s how I did it:

    8 cups V-8 juice = 400 calories

    3 teaspoons Better than Bouillon = 30 calories

    2 1/2 cups chopped cabbage = 40 calories

    1/2 cup chopped carrots = 35 calories

    1 cup green peas = 120 calories

    2 stalks celery, sliced = 15 calories

    2/3 cup corn = 100 calories

    1 cup diced cauliflower = 25 calories

    1 cup chopped onion = 67 calories

    1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms = 15 calories

    3 teaspoons minced garlic = 12 calories

    Salt and pepper to taste, and simmer until the veggies are tender and the whole house smells delicious and you JUSt HAVE TO EAT.

    Grand total calories for the whole pot = 859 calories

    This made 13 cups of soup.

    1 cup = 66 calories

    WOW! I could eat this whole pot of soup for dinner and supper and still be okay.

    I might actually be full! (she says excitedly.)

    I think I might do just that ….

Comments (7)

  • If you lived closer, I would invite myself for supper.

  • Sounds like a plan to me. On WW not many of those items even have to be counted for points.

  • I think you have enough to invite Doris, Carol, and ME for supper! Ok?

  • Janet, that sounds positively delicious! We love soups, too.

  • That sounds like my kind of thinking! We have soup a lot at our house too. I love it when my hubby says, “M-m-m, that is so good.” And he loves it leftover time after time.

  • Right, good plan. I have something similar in the crock pot right now. Carrots, cabbage, onions, and celery are essential, lentils are a nice option.

  • i’ve really been into trying soups lately~ this reminds me of my mom’s veggie soup.. which i might just have to see if i have all the ingredients for in the fridge. :)

    and good for you for watching calories. me too!! the holidays i always get into bad eating habits {i.e. TONS of sugar!!} ;)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *