June 23, 2011

  • Lucy, Lacey, lilies, and a little quiz…

    I have four of the smartest, sweetest, most precious grandchildren in the whole world. No question about it.

    And I have discovered something: I appreciate and enjoy them most when I have them one at a time.

                            lucy with egg

    Last week we had Lucy all to ourselves. It was perfect! She was an angel, and we didn’t have a cross word all week.

                             lucy with eggs

    She had lots of fun gathering eggs,

                             lucy with poppy

    riding on the tractor with Poppy when he mowed hay, helping me with my chores and going to play with her cousins one day.

                              three funny kids

    My chickens were not sure about Lucy…they were quite shy around her.

                             chix

    Lucy liked Lacey.

                             lacey

    Lucy liked Mimi’s lilies.

                             lucy with lily

    And Lucy loved Millie, the cousins’ new puppy.

                             Millie

    Everyone loves Millie.

    Mimi loves Michael….

                            michael

    and had so much fun going to see him Tuesday night. Awesome concert!!! It was a “beginning of summer” celebration, because the real fun on the farm starts now.

    Up at 4:30 this morning, Farmboy out the door by 5:30, and we’re off to the races! Cattle working every day, now that the first hay and silage have been harvested. Life becomes a marathon, and with apologies to the Gershwins, the livin’ ain’t so easy right now. But it’s life on the farm, and so here we go…hang on….

                            what is it

    Here’s the quiz! Question one: Can anyone guess what my new “thing” is???

    And question two: can you guess how I’m going to use it???

    I look forward to grading your answers on this Thursday’s pop quiz…

Comments (6)

  • Have to agree.   So much more peaceful to have the grandkids one at a time.   Can get more personal with them that way too.   No clue about what the item is.  Judging from the squares on the floor….maybe 2 feet long?

  • I would love to have mine one on one but when the youngest 2 come they are here for the entire 3 months. The older ones rarely show up. Just if there is some big thing with entire group of Wil’s family or Christmas. We will probably see them on the 4th except for the oldest 2. I think they will still be in Vegas but not sure. You are a bit ahead of us on the hay. How is your hay making compared to last year? No one around here is seeing the yield they got last spring. One of our fields make 10 bales less than last and that is the only field we have done so far. Cute pup! Guess she will grow into her ears. lol If I think of it I’ll ask Wil about the “tool”.

  • Hi Janet….is it to make even holes to plant seeds or plants ……the only thing I can come up with……

    Wish I had Grandkids coming around….4 Children of my own and all in their late 30′s and neither of them want children…..nor are any of them married ….just one in a serious relationship…

    Never mind might happen one day…Brenda

  • Does it have something to do with fiber? To comb cotton or wool with?
    I don’t know what it is, but I love it. It’s old and it’s made of wood. That’s good enough for me!

  • Your grandbabies are beautiful! Sounds like a lovely week was had by all! And Michael–oh my heavens, am I jealous!!

    Re: your thing-a-ma-jig. Are you doing something with animal fur?? Please tell me it has to do with knitting and you’ll bring it for a show and tell??

    Lisa

  • I love Millie, too. Looks to me like you have part of an old rake, and it might make a good tie rack, apron holder, or something to hang garden tools on. Or maybe ribbons for grandaughters’ hair.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *