December 21, 2011

  •  If there is a knitter on your Christmas list and you still need a little something for her/him, here is a great idea:

                        IMG_8159  

    This was a recent birthday gift from a very special friend of mine, and I love it! Each page has a single helpful hint or just something cute or inspriring about knitting. For example,

    “Needles, yarn, a fire in the hearth — Heaven awaits.” Sandy Beers

    “If you know that the word ‘frog’ doesn’t always refer to an amphibious creature, you are a knitter. This bit of knitting slang comes from the act of ripping out stitches, as in ‘rip it, rip it; rip it.’ “

    “An hour of knitting is cheaper than an hour of therapy.”

    “The Lord your God will bless you in all your harvest and in the work of your hands, and your joy will be complete.”

    “Knit a soft, snuggly comfort, prayer or friendship shawl for someone going through a tough time. Each time it is worn, the recipient will be surrounded by the love and prayers knit into each stitch.”

    That last is basically the motto of our Prayer Shawl Circle at our church. In less than two years, we’ve given away countless prayer shawls, baby items, gifts to senior shut-ins….more than I could list here.

    It was such a beautiful thing, the way it came about. We were at a meeting, and the friend who gave me this book shared about the nudge God was giving her to have something for the women in our church (specifically, those who are older widows) to do to feel needed. I confessed the nudge I was getting from Him about a way to share my love of knitting…and voila! Our circle was thus born. There is no question that He has blessed US even more than the ones who’ve received items from us.

    Back to the book: it was probably intended to be read a bit at a time, perhaps a page a day while leisurely enjoying a cup of tea. Not for me — the words were so appealing that I had to read the whole thing straight through. But now I’ll go back and read it a day at a time and let each bit really soak in.

    “Knit your hearts with an unslipping knotl” ~ William Shakespeare

                                             free_clip_art_yarn_crafts_woolbasket                 

    “Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might.” ~Ecclesiastes 9:1

    Hooray! Permission given!  

    P.S. Here is another b-day gift, from one of “MY” circle friends. Isn’t this adorable??!!

                    IMG_8160

    Another way to enjoy Sunbonnet Sue!!!

       

Comments (4)

  • My mother would love this ~

  • Someday I will knit.  I hope.  Looks  like a very inspiring book….love the quotes. 

    That’s wonderful that you have a group of ladies to work with like that.  “It is more blessed to give than to receive”.  You must get SO much pleasure out of it, and imaging the people using your special gifts, made with love and prayer!

    thanks for your note today on my site. Today has been such a good day, it’s amazing compared to yesterday.  Thanks for reminding me of the good that will come out of the trials in life, it’s just such an amazing fact of our heavenly Father’s redemptive works.  We can trust and believe Him, always.  I like to say to myself, “Even when I’m feeling down, I’m still on my way  UP!” 

  • Love those quotes! I might just have to look for that book! Do you have the pattern for the Sunbonnet Sue dishcloth or know whether it is available online?

  • What a wonderful book….and all of us are so happy that the Prayer Shawl Circle came to  be.   God has a plan.  Sometimes we don’t know what it is…but we just have to wait on Him and He will show us the way.  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *